Usual | Unusual

IMG_5367IMG_5384IMG_5391IMG_5400IMG_5450IMG_5438IMG_5451IMG_5458IMG_5470IMG_5474IMG_5478IMG_5484IMG_5496

I know posting on a Thursday is a bit random, but I didn’t want to wait until next week for this one. Yesterday I had been feeling (once again) a serious lack of motivation, especially in my writing. I was groggy and out of it, which led to guilt, which led to more grogginess, which in turn led to me mentally yelling at myself to snap out of it. What better way to find motivation again than to seek out places that inspire you? This time, it happened to be the house where the fictional Elizabeth James lived with her daughter Annie. Yes, that’s right. The house featured in these photos is from the 1998 version of “The Parent Trap.” Admittedly one of my favorite movies (mostly thanks to Natasha Richardson and the character of Elizabeth), it had an odd way of cheering me up. Something about a woman owning a successful business and reaping the rewards in the most classy way possible makes you feel hopeful. I mean, look at this house!

Another decision I made that day was to don these new embroidered pink boots from Topshop that I scooped up during their sale. Everyone has their favorite hoodie and jeans combo, but why stop there? Add something unexpected and bright, something very you, and what was before something usual becomes unusual in the best possible way. Reminding myself that I’m the only one of me was a good way to get myself back on track. Even though around this house I should have been wearing a co-ord tweed jacket and skirt. Next time.

Shop:

Topshop boots | Topshop hoodie | Topshop jeans

Social Media:

Instagram: thekatiecollect

Twitter: KxtieMxrie

Snapchat: kiggins800

Youtube: Katie Higgins

Leave a Reply

